Momentum CD




Following the success of his JUNO-nominated album Identity, baritone saxophonist Shirantha Beddage continues to deliver his brand of high-octane modern jazz on the new album, Momentum, featuring Will Kennedy of the Yellowjackets.  This album was nominated for Jazz Album of the Year (Solo) at the 2017 JUNO Awards.

For this new album, his compositions reflect his childhood fascination with the physical sciences, as he explores the tension between oppositional forces in music and the world around us.  The music is drawn from Beddage’s most diverse range of influences thus far, including New Orleans jazz, R&B, film music and folk songs, providing a musical landscape that is accessible, varied and complex.

Shirantha Beddage – Woodwinds and Keyboards
David Restivo – Piano and Keyboards
Mike Downes – Acoustic Bass
Rich Brown – Electric Bass
Mark Kelso – Drums
Will Kennedy – Drums

Track Listing

  1. Pork Chop 7:18
  2. Drag and Drop 8:07
  3. Gravity 7:15
  4. Centrifugal Force 8:03
  5. Momentum (for Bernard Hermann) 7:37
  6. Axis of Rotation 2:36
  7. Angle of Incidence 5:37
  8. The Long Goodbye 6:45